Image via Pinterest

You won’t believe what I’ve been using as an all natural deodorant!

It’s not any particular product you can buy because, despite how much I like natural deodorant in the winter, they are not effective enough to use in the hot California summer.

I’ve been using lemons! I know the photo is of limes, but that’s because my BFF (AKA best friend FOH-EVA) recommended that I try limes. The thing is, I only had lemons on hand so I used those instead and they work just as well.

How Does This All Work?

Easy!

You simply cut a small slice of lemon or lime, whichever you have on hand, and rub it lightly in your under arm area. Let it dry for a few seconds and then go on your way!

That’s LITERALLY it and it TOTALLY WORKS!

I didn’t believe it either when she told me, but suspend your judgment until you try it for yourself.

It’s super cheap, eco and really surprisingly effective! 

The natural benefits of this are that the citrus absorbs all of the bacteria in your under arm area ( which is what makes you smell bad, by the way ) so you don’t have a particular scent, but you definitely don’t smell AT ALL.

I wore this for literally 10 hours and did not smell in the least. Then I went to the gym after work for an hour and did intense circuit training and, despite being drenched in sweat, I STILL did not smell!

This definitely works and some other benefits you will see over time are lighter under arms  because the citrus will lighten the discoloration conventional deodorants have caused you over time, clear pores and smoother skin in this area, and a cleaner shave because of your smoother under arm skin!

The price of this deodorant method is less than $1 so definitely try this out – You can afford it!

Definitely let me know in the comments if you’ve tried this insanely effective and surprisingly simple “DIY” deodorant method or try it and let me know how it goes!

What Do You Think of DIY Deodorants? 

♥ Tianna

8 thoughts on “You Won’t Believe What I Now Use For Natural Deodorant – A Surprisingly Cheap, Effective & Simple Solution to B.O. and Discoloration!

  1. healthyfrenchie

    I just left you a comment but it seems to have disappeared. So I hope I’m not repeating myself!
    Anyhow, I love the idea! I was thinking this morning that I should really try natural deodorant or something more natural anyway. What is the point of avoiding chemicals in my food if I put them on my skin?
    I have a couple of “older” lemons in my kitchen so I’ll give it a try at the week-end. Does it burn if you put it on right after shaving though?
    Growing up my mum was against all conventional cosmetics so I wasn’t allowed “proper” deodorant. she used to buy an all natural spray with citrus oils and juice, alcohol and water in it. I guess the alcohol keeps the lemon juice fresh…
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      No repeats on my end that I can see. Yeah I was really skeptical but it does actually work and it’s much better for letting your under arm pores breathe. It will actually even brighten the area over time as well which I think is a nice bonus haha. It burns a little if you do it right after shaving, but once it’s dry, that goes away. Definitely let me know how it goes for you! ♥

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Quick Tips for Fashion, Beauty & Fitness This Summer! | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

Leave a Reply

