Real Techniques Core Collection

{ This is NOT a sponsored post. I am not affiliated or associated with this company at all. I purchased these makeup brushes of my own free will and with my own money. As always, all opinions stated in this and any of my posts are completely my own. }

Everyone in the “blogosphere” has raved on and on about these incredible brushes from YouTube E-famous Pixiwoo’s Samantha Chapman – the Real Techniques makeup brush line – and after long last I have finally been able to get hold of some to see for myself!

I picked up their Core Collection and Expert Face Brush from Ulta and the first thing that really impressed me are the prices of these brushes. They are along the same price point of Eco Tools ( a big favorite of mine ) – around $8-$10 for a single brush and around $20 for a set of 3-4 brushes. The brushes alone look to be of very high quality and after using them, I find them to be very durable with little to no shedding from the bristles. The bristles are very soft and fluffy, but super dense and compact.

Included in the Core Collection: 

  • Detailer Brush – Awesome for using eye shadow in crease, with cream eye shadow, or to conceal spots on the face. Although they market this as a concealer brush mainly, I wouldn’t use it to conceal under my eyes. I tried it and found it to be way too small and left the product looking streaky.
  • Pointed Foundation Brush – Although they market this as a foundation brush, I am not a huge fan of typical foundation brushes. I preferred to use this as an under eye concealer brush and it worked fantastically for that purpose.
  • Buffing Brush – This is a great multi-purpose brush for bronzer, blush or mineral foundation powder. I have used it for all 3 of these and it has worked really well. My only advice for using this with bronzer or blush is that you don’t need a massive amount of product. This brush is really good at utilizing a small amount of product for just the right amount of color payoff so there’s no need to pick up a ton of product because it will end up packing on way too much. This is also brilliant for full coverage powder foundation application – I used it with my Alima Pure Mineral Foundation and it came out really nice.
  • Contour Brush – This is one of the main brushes in this set that I was pretty excited to try out. It actually works just as they advise. It works great for contouring on the face and only a little bit of product is needed to create a nice diffused look. I really love it! Now all I need is a good contour powder! Any recommendations? Please leave them in the comments below!!
  • Panoramic Brush Case + Stand – This case is surprisingly nice and simple, but multi-functional. I was really surprised because it’s a simple fold up makeup case for the brushes, but one end can be flipped back which turns the case into a little stand for the brushes. It’s really quite a nice touch and it gives good value to this set.

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush

The other brush I picked up was their Expert Face Brush which has gotten really great reviews for it’s application of face products, in general, but namely liquid and cream type foundations. I haven’t used this for liquid foundation yet, but I have used it loads of times now with my RMS Beauty Un-Cover Up which gave me great results.  This brush is quite short, but the bristles are super densely packed so you have a lot of control. I find that with longer bristle face brushes, it’s really easy to feel like you don’t have much control because they are easily bent every which way. This one makes application easy, seamless and streak free without much effort or skill.

Overall, I really love these brushes. They are super unique in design, in my opinion, because they are made to help everyday makeup users such as myself apply products with ease and they definitely succeed in that. A lot of times, makeup brush brands generally all look the same and have the same function, but I really love that these brushes deviate a bit and offer brushes that are easy for the everyday person to use. I think these would be fantastic for anyone who is new to using makeup and makeup brushes because they are super easy to use and they are very affordable. They are sold in a number of places online, including on their own Real Techniques home site and even now Walmart’s online shop even offers them.  I’m not sure if Walmart has them in store yet, but you can find them in Ulta or Boots, if you have those near you.

What do you think of makeup brushes?

Do you use them or do you prefer using your hands or Q-tips?

Have you ever tried these Real Techniques brushes?

If not, what’s your favorite makeup brush brand?

I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comments!

♥ Tianna

2 thoughts on “The Best High Quality Budget Makeup Brushes for Anyone – Real Techniques

    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      It is really nice! I love EcoTools still, but I guess I wish they were this well designed. Or vice versa, I wish that RT brushes were more eco haha. Hopefully they will become so over time. These brushes are really noteworthy IMO.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

