Ah, Beauty Faux pas. We’ve all committed one ( or you know, all of them ) at some point or another and I’m certainly no different. I can fondly ( or not so fondly ) remember a time when I thought I was super stylish, but was sadly not and what better way to move past it than by sharing my crimes against beauty that I’ve personally committed? That’s what I thought too so I hope you enjoy and feel a little less bad about faux pas you may or may not have committed – No judgment here  😉

Pixi Flawless Beauty Stick

Pixi Flawless Beauty Stick

Orange Stick Foundation

So, the stick foundation I used to use when I first tried makeup was not this one by Pixi. I think it was by Covergirl or Revlon or something like that. The brand doesn’t matter. All you need to know is that, at that time, my skin was still young and perfect, and I did it no justice. In fact, I bought the stick foundation in the totally wrong color which looked quite orange on my skin and didn’t match my neck. It was God awful. Also, I likely put way too much of it on, didn’t blend it in, and just let it look all naturale in it’s pasty cakey glory so I pretty much looked ridiculous… which is why I stopped wearing it altogether after a week, deciding it was #1 too much work to put on every day and #2 I looked like a freaking Oompa Loompa clown.

CoverGirl LiquilineBlast Eyeliner

CoverGirl LiquilineBlast Eyeliner

Raccoon Eyes

I don’t actually remember what brand of eyeliner I first used. I think it was Elizabeth Arden or something. I just remember I nicked it from my mom’s makeup stash and only wore it on my top lash line for the first 4 years. In fact, that’s the only makeup I wore at all until I was 16 when I promptly added powder to my routine. When I was about 16, though, I thought the “intense dark eyes” look was super fab and decided to do it every. single. day… erm, at school. I don’t know how bizarre that looked, but I guess I shouldn’t feel so bad about having black eyes since all the girls in my year did it. Now you can see why I’ve not followed trends in so long. It did not do me any favors. Unless you count the unflattering photos as “favors.”

Sonia Kashuk® Core Tools Synthetic Pointed Eye Liner Brush - No 121

Sonia Kashuk® Core Tools Synthetic Pointed Eye Liner Brush – No 121

White Water Lines

I was in my Junior year when I discovered this brilliant little trick. What you do is you put white eye liner in your water line so you can make your eyes POP. What they don’t tell you is that white is seriously obvious and bright and looks horrible. You should really be using nude or beige colors that look more natural to your skin tone, but back then, beauty “gurus” recommended white eye liner. THANKS EXPERTS. I felt like quite the expert, myself, with this little tip. Maybe they were trolling their readers? Anyway, please save yourself some embarrassment and use beige or nude colored liner in your water line because white looks AWFUL. Yeah, you’ll look awake alright…and freaking insane.

COVERGIRL Cheekers Blush - Natural Rose 148

COVERGIRL Cheekers Blush – Natural Rose 148

Streaky Liney Blush and Bronzer

Although this last one was a bit later on, it’s definitely something I’m guilty of. It’s scary to think I walked around (confidently, no doubt) with thick streaks of blush and bronzer on my cheeks like a champ. All the while, I’m looking like Bozo the clown on circus day! Now, to my credit and the credit of all those who did this, blushes back then had a tendency to be chalky and really difficult to blend. The colors were also limited and usually were either too light or too dark. It’s a lot more evolved today when it comes to drugstore beauty, but when I was younger, there were a lot less options. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

So, those are a few of the beauty fax pas I remember committing the most!

Stay Tuned Tomorrow for My Fashion Faux Pas!

What Beauty Faux Pas Did You Commit ? 

I’d love to know in the comments!

♥ Tianna 

4 thoughts on “CRIMES AGAINST BEAUTY: Beauty Faux Pas I’ve Committed…

  1. masquerade21

    Hey you 🙂
    I’ve not been by in a while and then when I check out your blog the first thing I see is that make up monster! I was like wow what have I been missing 😛 Thanks for the white eyeliner truth, I had heard the same tip but was yet to try it, now I know that it would be a waste of time.

    How have you been anyway?
    xx

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Hii ! Long time no talk!! Glad to see you’re still around 😀 Haha you’ve been missing so much awesomeness 😉 Yeah the whole white eyeliner thing is ridiculous. It sounds really good in theory, but not so good in practice. I highly recommend beige or nude though. Those are great and less obvious. I’ve been really good – just busy with life and blogging! It’s also gotten ridiculously hot here in Cali so I’m slowly melting to death LOL.

      I’m doing a giveaway – there’s only a day left so if you wanna sign up here > http://storybookapothecary.com/2013/05/08/lovely-and-long-lasting-natural-korean-beauty-products-a-clio-makeup-review-giveaway/

      Also, you might get a laugh from this post I did recently > http://storybookapothecary.com/2013/05/03/rant-why-i-can-never-be-anorexic-despite-past-attempts-thinspo-can-suck-it-and-how-not-eating-turns-me-into-a-psycho-bitch/

      Glad to hear from you B ♥

      Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Yeah the coverage of stick foundation is horrible haha. Also when I was younger, the colors were seriously limited. There was not as much skin tone matching so the colors usually looked awful xx

      Reply

Leave a comment