Pinned Image

Warning : Cursing abound – abort now if you don’t like uncensored posts!

It may shock you to know that I once attempted to be anorexic…for like a day. And by day, I mean for about 3 hours before failing pretty miserably.

Pinned Image

via Pinterest

What can I say? I’m just not cut out to deprive myself of awesome food. I know Kate Moss says that “nothing tastes better than skinny feels,” but she’s full of shit. There are tons of things that taste better than being skinny.

I’m not saying I don’t want to be fit because, if you follow this blog, you’ll know I’m trying to lose weight, but I’d never starve myself to achieve that because #1 I fucking suck at trying to willfully starve and #2 I am the biggest psycho bitch you’ll ever meet when I’m hungry.

Pinned Image

via Pinterest

Now, it’s not to say I’ve never tried to become an anorexic because I totally have. There was a good solid month where I creepily teetered on ED city limits and followed “thinspo” blogs, but I’m just not cut out for it. I lasted a good 3 hours on small meals of veggies before I went out for sushi. Why? Because sushi is awesome and I can’t say no to it.

Diet Enforcement Dog: ha why doesn't rayne do this for me??

Diet Enforcement Dog via Pinterest

On another time, I tried the famed “lemon cayenne molasses” diet for about an hour before saying “fuck it” and choosing to eat real food. My friend claimed you could drop 20 pounds in a month on the diet, and being the naive girl that I was, I bought into it. I rushed to the store to pick up molasses (WTF is molasses BTW?!), lemon juice and cayenne pepper. Basically you mix a tsp of each ingredient with water, shake and enjoy? What they don’t tell you about this piece of shit diet is that IT IS DISGUSTING. Whoever invented this was some kind of sado-masochist because this stuff tastes GOD AWFUL.

Pinned Image

via Pinterest

I actually gagged a good few times before being able to swallow some down. I mean, I guess if it’s inducing your gag reflex, that must mean it’s working right? As luck would have it, I was doing lunch with my friend and my mom that day and they decided to eat at Olive Garden. THANKS MOM. I don’t know if you’ve ever tried to sit through a meal with others wherein you can’t eat anything, but it is AWFUL. It’s the worst.

Halfway through their meal and after much whining, complaining and general bitching on my part, I gave up and ordered a salad and pasta because why? Because dieting is awful and starving on gag-inducing diet “detox” drinks is worse than both.

Pinned Image

via Pinterest

Now, on a more serious note, I realize that some people really struggle with eating disorders and I’m not making light of the issue. What I’m really saying is that you should be eating healthily and exercising for a healthy heart instead of starving, bingeing or throwing up your food because what did food ever do to you? No, I jest, but really – it’s not worth it to put yourself through pain to be skinny. If you want to be skinny, lift heavy weights, eat well, love yourself right fucking NOW, and you can be, but in a way that’s not detrimental to your health. And lastly, the biggest reason of all – Why should you let the diet, health food, fashion, beauty, etc. industry dictate how you live your life? I say NINJA FUCK THE PO-LEECE! Or, you know, whatever industry you’re crusading against. I’d rather defy their expectations and create my own than be miserable for what someone else says is beautiful because REAL TALK – Everyone is beautiful. Seriously. Everyone has amazing qualities, whether they know it or not. Just because you don’t see how beautiful and amazing you are does not mean that it doesn’t exist. And if you don’t like yourself right now – that’s cool. You can recreate yourself anytime you decide you’re bored with a little self love, lipstick and smiles.

I hope you enjoyed this random rant🙂

Have a Great Day Loves ♥ 

Tianna

22 thoughts on “RANT: Why I Can Never Be Anorexic {Despite Past Attempts} , Thinspo Can SUCK IT and How Not Eating Turns Me Into A Psycho Bitch

  1. nonfashionista

    Great rant! I often think about this issues myself. I totally agree with you! I actually tried that diet you mentioned. It does work and I lost around 4 kilos in a week. I couldn’t do it for more then a week though..right now I’m focused on eating healthy and exercising but if a pizza comes along I won’t deny it. I think that like you said, we are all beautiful and we should love ourselves by our thoughts and actions instead of only focusing on our looks!

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Thanks! Yeah it’s definitely an issue and I am not good at dieting haha. I just try to focus on eating healthily and getting slimmer slower which will last in the long term. We should definitely love ourselves inside and out and that shouldn’t be a self destructive thing you know? Thanks so much for commenting – I’m glad you liked the post xx

      Reply
  2. marisaporter

    I find really relaxing on the weekend helps me. And making working out a priority. God help me I will get toned and fit without starving myself!!🙂 There’s a book whose title makes me think you would like it. It’s called, “In Defense of Food.” The titles intrigues me. I’ve never read the book.

    Reply
  3. Liss Cope

    Love this post hun! I hate dieting! Omg is the worst, like you It only last like an hour LOL, I rather eat a good meal and work out everyday, I’m triying to loose some weight but diet and me …not chemistry at all. Hehehehe. Big hugs❤

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Thanks! I’m so glad you enjoyed the post!! It was meant to be humorous for sure. I’m so happy I made your day! Thanks for visiting❤ Stop by again sometime😀

      Reply
  4. Pingback: I will choose HEAVEN so i can eat CAKE without CONSEQUENCES | ACCIDENTALLY FASHIONABLE

  5. Mindy

    Despite all the cursing, :-P…this was a great rant. I agree with most of what you were saying! However, there are some good diets it there, healthy ones. I agree, eating better and exercising is huge. I miss exercising, since I’m disabled from a work injury almost 4 years now…but, i learned to truly love myself. That is #1, NO MATTER WHAT!!!!

    Reply
  6. tribalfaerie

    I never understood that Kate Moss quote, “Nothing tastes as good as skinny feels.” BS!!!! I can think of a lot of things that taste better than skinny feels! Like beer, and ice cream, and pizza and my mom’s homemade Mac n Cheese!! Love this post.❤

    Reply
  7. Sara

    haha I loved your rant! In part because it was hilarious and also because I could also relate to it. In college, I thought I was too fat so I started to follow thinspo blogs and kept a calorie journal. Everyday I said too myself, “today is the day that I will only eat 1000 calories and workout for two hours”. And then I would just find pictures of food, get hungry, eat a ton of food and then hate myself. Ugh, I was stupid back then -__-

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Thanks! I’m really glad you enjoyed it. I definitely relate to that and its stupid how much body image and pressure to be thin in the media affects us in real life, but the truth is that none of that crap matters. Be happy, be healthy and eat the food you like. It’s not worth hating yourself and wasting your life being miserable to fit into a cardboard box. You know? I totally understand and you know, nobody’s stupid. It’s just things we go through to get to where we are now. It’s your own “journey” as cliche as that sounds. Thanks for visiting me ♥

      Reply
  8. Bohmyi

    There are crazy statistics out there about young girls who try to be thin. This is such a stupid thing! I’m not the skinniest person ever, but I am not overweight either. Obviously I have looked at other girls and wanted to be as skinny as them but the facts are that I really love eating food. I’ve never struggled with my weight as much as I know others have.
    Dieting is not a good way to go about things when it comes to losing weight – it’s much better to exercise and eat healthily (although easier said than done, haha).
    This was such an inspirational post! Especially for young girls like me🙂 x

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Yeah it is an insane issue that nearly every woman deals with or has dealt with at some point in her life. It is a tough thing to battle with media pressure, but the best thing is to not let it get to you and just live your life. It’s not always easy, but it’s better to be happy, in my opinion, and healthy than to live life trying to be someone else. Totally agree with you and thanks so much for commenting – please come visit again! ♥

      Reply
  9. Pingback: Identity / Race Crisis: What Happens When You Don’t Fit In Anywhere? | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

Leave a Reply

