Happy Wednesday!

So, I recently posted this image on Instagram ( Follow Me @StorybookBeauty! ) so people could see what my weekly workout routine consists of. Some people thought I was completely insane ( I’m looking at you F00dVentures! :-P) while others seemed impressed by my dedication to a fitness schedule. Personally, I’ve simply found what works best for me, given my work schedule and time constraints. I didn’t want to sit there forever going, I just don’t have the time, because I know that that would be a total lie. That being said, I also want to make time to live, sleep, rest, and enjoy myself so this is what seems to be working the best for me. It might seem like a lot, but actually, I feel like I have a LOT more time, especially in the morning. I can go work out, come home and actually sit down to eat a nice breakfast. I can make a few smoothies, put the finishing touches on my lunch and snacks, and leisurely walk upstairs for a shower. It’s nice. 

And, the most shocking bit of all? I actually enjoy getting up in the morning now!

Now, I know, I know, if you’ve been following me, you may have a bit of an idea of just how much of a not morning person I am. or was?  And you may be a bit shocked to hear that I actually enjoy getting up now. I know – it’s weird for me too.

The weirdest part about this is (aside from the fact that I may actually be slowly turning into a morning person) that I think the most helpful tip I’ve been using to do all of this is that I have literally been sleeping in my gym clothes. Now, I’ve done other things to prepare myself and leave myself with literally no excuse so that I absolutely have to get up, but I know that this is one of the most helpful things I’ve done because I feel like it gets me into the mindset of working out and  cements my plans into stone (figuratively, obviously) because it’s like – If I don’t get up to workout, I am going to feel like I complete moron for sleeping in my workout clothes. 

I also think it helps a lot because, with the freezing cold weather we’ve been having, I am less and less inclined to want to undress and then change into gym clothes in the morning. It’s quite nice to just be ready to go. I don’t sleep in my sport bra, though, because that would be kind of uncomfortable for me so that’s the only thing I do change into in the morning, other than putting my shoes on.

Other things that I’ve done to prepare for waking up early include:

  • Setting 5 Alarms at 5-10 minute intervals of each other. Looks like this: 4:25 AM, 4:30 AM, 4:40 AM 
  • Sleeping in My Gym Clothes.
  • Leaving Running Shoes by the Door.
  • Prepping My Lunch & Snacks the Day Before.
  • Carrying a Water Canteen/Bottle.
  • Going With A Workout Buddy.
  • Deciding I Am Going to Do it , No Excuses.

Aside from sleeping in my gym clothes, I’ve been going each morning with my boyfriend’s cousin so it’s helpful to have a person there who is encouraging you ( or bullying, if needed LOL) to get up when you don’t particularly feel like it. Also, I think I’ve just reached the point where I decided this is what I’m going to do and that’s it. I didn’t give myself an out by saying or even thinking “I might do this” or “If I feel okay, I’ll do this,” because there’s too much room there for me to back out. I just firmly planned everything out as detailed as I could and organized everything toward that goal with no options to back out and I’ve been pretty successful in this plan thus far. I’ve only taken a few breaks midweek (usually around Wednesday) when I’ve gone to bed too late and just simply been too exhausted to go, but I’ve made up for the lost day on the weekend somehow or in the evening.  It does seem to be working, too, because I’m on week 3, going strong, and I’ve lost 6 pounds so far and find myself getting up every morning with less and less trouble every day.

If you’re like me and have trouble rising early, but really want to do it, then don’t give up! Keep trying different tactics and, if you’re really set on doing it, then you can and will.

And, if all else fails, just sleep in your gym clothes.

What do you do to get yourself up in the morning? 

I’d love to know your tips and tricks in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Why I Sleep In My Gym Clothes…

  1. healthyfrenchie

    I was smiling reading this because I have became a “morning exerciser” too over the last year. I keep my gym clothes either at the side of the bed or in the bathroom, so they are ready and handy. Also, for me it was easier to take it easy in the beginning (a quick walk before work turned into runs quick). And my puppy is my best running buddy, enough of a bully for me lol but it’s great you have someone to go with 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

