Happy Tuesday Everyone!

I hope you all had a lovely weekend and are enjoying your week so far!

I apologize for my silence over the weekend – I’ve been finding that lately I need to unplug on weekends and just chill without being on the computer as I spent way too much time on it in December and think I may have burnt myself out a little bit. That being said, I’m really doing my best to get in more fitness than I did in December (little to none, other than massive amounts of holiday shopping walking around and cooking – does that count??) and get back on track with healthy eating and my goals for 2013. Isn’t everyone?

But anyhow, onto today’s post!

So, lately I’ve been super obsessed with all things velvet and I mean, I LOVE velvet on any given day, but somehow, in the winter time, that love goes up to obsessive levels and I just want everything in my closet to turn to velvet. Obviously I have yet to win the lottery so that hasn’t happened, but here’s a few of my favorite velvet pieces that I wanted to share with you all. I hope you all can incorporate some velvet into your lives as I think it’s such a feminine, soft, and romantic fabric for the winter (or you know, any time!). Also, it would be especially nice come Valentine’s Day – I’m just saying!

Pinned Image

Velvet Peplum Jacket – NastyGal.com – via Pinterest

I really love the peplum style lately and this jacket is super chic because the fabric is layered, black goes with everything AND velvet will keep you nice and warm!

Pinned Image

The Official Dr. Martens USA Store – HACKNEY Sneakers – DrMartens.com – via Pinterest

I recently saw this sales clerk at Forever 21 wearing burgundy velvet sneakers ( which, in hindsight, may have spurned this whole velvet fixation…) and I’ve been on a manhunt for a pair of my own ever since. These seem to be the closest thing to velvet sneakers that I can find and they are really cute! For some reason, there don’t seem to be a whole lot of options for velvet sneakers, though, which is strange because it’s 2013 and I just imagine we have everything.

Pinned Image

Bathing Beauty One Piece in Blue Velvet by Esther Williams – ModCloth.com – via Pinterest

I’m not sure why there is a velvet bathing suit for sale, but hey, I’d rock it! Although, my boyfriend did mention that it might be unflattering once it gets wet, but what does he know?

Pinned Image

Sophie Platform Pump – Black – NastyGal.com – via Pinterest

Aside from my velvet obsession, I also have a fixation on mary jane style shoes so the fact that this heel combines both is perfect!

Pinned Image

Heart to heart dress – pixiemarket.com – via Pinterest

I love the heart cut out in this dress! The design itself makes it a fantastic choice for Valentine’s Day or any other romantic day in your calendar. Personally, I’d be wearing this whenever and wherever I could get away with it, you know, because of the velvet 😛 .

Pinned Image

Esmeralda Boot – Green – NastyGal.com – via Pinterest

Other style fixations of mine include boots of all shapes and sizes and I love these because they are forest green and slip on (yes, I’m lazy!) so hoorah for that! I have been resolving to add more color to my wardrobe in 2013 and I think this would make a lovely addition.

Pinned Image

Blue Cocktail Dress – USTrendy.com – via Pinterest

I have one other minor fixation in fashion with all things lacey and mesh and since this dress combined lace mesh, velvet AND purple together, I just think it’s adorable.

Pinned Image

Snow Palace Skater Dress by MINKPINK – threadsence.com – via Pinterest

There seem to be a limited number of colors where velvet is concerned, but I can count on classics to be included – red, black, and occasionally blue, green and purple. I love this classic red velvet dress with a modern twist. The cutouts are a really cute way to show some skin while still keeping your look classy and chic.

Pinned Image

Cute Black Top – Velvet Top – Sleeveless Top – $34.00 – Lulus.com – via Pinterest

As I said, I also have a slight obsession with peplum tops at the moment and this top is just simple and adorable! I love that it’s black because it will work with tons of different looks and styles and helps to jazz up any simple look just a little bit more.

To see more velvet loveliness, check out my Pinterest board here.

Otherwise, definitely follow me on Pinterest here.

What are your current fashion obsessions?

Do you have any style fixations with velvet, peplum tops or anything?

Let me know in the comments!

9 thoughts on “My Velvet Obsession

    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Me too! Lol. Thanks – I’d like to be more productive blog wise on weekends, but I’m tired! I’m working on doing a blog calendar for the entire year, but I dunno when I’ll get around to doing that. Hopefully soon! xx

      Reply
  1. Dash

    Love them! Velvet is one of those fabrics that I always like in theory, but I have to be really careful when selecting pieces as it can be quite unflattering. These pieces all look gorgeous!

    Well done too for unplugging over the weekend, I think it’s important to take some time out and completely disconnect from unnecessary distractions!

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      I can see that, but I also think that since it’s a thicker fabric, it’s good at hiding imperfections if you wear figure flattering designs, you know? I totally agree about disconnecting, but it’s tough to do! Lol. xx

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Random Wednesday – Current Fixations That Are {Mostly} Unrelated to Beauty | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

Leave a Reply

