Hello Lovelies!

I saw this post on Creativity Arise the other day and loved her post so I thought I’d do it as well! I am loving these little questionnaires on different topics lately for some reason. I also thought this one was quite appropriate given I’ve woken up to rainy overcast this morning and, in Cali, we associate that with Fall & Winter as we really don’t get snow. Anyway, I hope you enjoy and anyone who wants to do the tag, please do(!), and definitely link me in the comments so I can read your responses!

1. What is your favorite thing about winter?

My favorite thing about winter is the rain, the boots, and the scent of chimney smoke on cold air.

2. What is your least favorite thing about winter?

The difficult time I seem to have getting out of bed, you know, more than usual when it’s freezing cold out.

Health & Beauty

3. What are your favorite skin care items for the cold winter months?

I have soo many, but lately I’m all about Suti’s Cleanse Organic Balm & Purity Balm as my skin has been kind of dry lately. (See reviews for those here & here) I also really love cleansing oils. My favorite cleansing oil is the one from Antonia Burrell which is great for both acne and dry skin (see the review for it here), but right now I’m testing out one from Moist.

4. What’s your favorite travel size hand cream?

Hands down – Erbaviva Hand Cream. It’s so gentle & nourishing, but there’s no greasiness to it at all. It’s a great one for cold weather. See my review for it here.

5. What are your favorite eye shadow/ lipstick colors for winter months?

Right now, I’m really into doing a daytime type smoky eye with all brown, beige, bronze and gold type colors and also simple liquid eyeliner in plum colors. For lipstick, I am on the lookout for a nice deep plum or burgundy color that’s been on trend for fall, but I haven’t found one yet. If anyone has any advice on a good one, do let me know! Other than that, I love the lipsticks by Karen Murrell & ILIA. See reviews on both here & here.

6. What is your favorite hair product for the cold winter months?

I really love the Max Green Alchemy line of hair products You can see their review here. I also really love the deep conditioner from Brown Butter Beauty which is super affordable and organic. Not sure why I haven’t done a review yet.

Fashion Preference

Boots: thigh high, knee high, mid calf, flat boots, or booties?

Knee high and thigh high boots for life! I love that look with leggings or tights. I love the style of ankle/ calf boots, but my calves tend to be a bit on the large size so they just make me look short and I kind of avoid them for that haha. Wish I was taller!

Layering: Cardigans, blazers, or pull over sweaters/jumpers?

Cardigans and hoodies. I love hoodies when I’m just cold and feeling lazy. I love cardigans and leather jackets with scarves, though, for a really cute fashionable look.

Accessories: Hats, scarves, or gloves?

Scarves & gloves! I’m not much of a hat person. My mom kind of freaked me out about it when I was young because my sister and I went through a very odd phase of wearing backward caps every day (like I said, ODD phase! LOL. ) and my mom kept telling me I was going to lose my hair if I wore hats all the time so ever since then, I’ve sort of been traumatized against wearing them. Yep.

Dresses or pants (trousers)?

Pants, leggings, jeans, etc. I also really love shorts with tights. I went through a stint where all I wore was dresses, but lately I’m anti-dresses.

Life

What is your favorite winter holiday?

Halloween. It’s just full of so much life and character.

What is your favorite drink during the cold winter months?

hot ginger tea with lemon & honey, jasmine green tea plain, and occasionally hot chocolate is nice.

What is your favorite Christmas movie?

I don’t really have one, but I do love The Santa Clause and watching Twilight Zone marathons. For some reason, I also really get a yearning to watch period films like Pride & Prejudice in winter…

Would you rather…

…attend a Christmas party or New Year’s Eve party?

NYE party as I always stay home and it would be a lovely change!

…toast marshmallows in your indoor fireplace or outdoors at a bonfire?

bonfires on the beach are the best, but I also love fire pits!

…go north to New York City or south to Miami?

NYC! I’ve never been and always wanted to go for a visit. I’d love watch the ball drop on NYE!

…bring the new year in partying at a club with friends, spending quality time at home with family watching the ball drop, at church praising God for blessing you to see another year, or having dinner with family and friends?

I would love to go to or have a dinner party with both friends and family. We’ve always been real casual, but I’d love to do a formal dinner party type event.

…create a New Year’s resolution or focus on something else?

I love NY resolutions, but I prefer not to wait for the NY to do them. I’m always working toward my goals, no matter the time or place.

…go snowboarding, skiing, ice skating, or have a snowball fight?

I love ice skating! Snowboarding mildly terrifies and thrills me at the same time. I used to really love skiing as a child, but I haven’t done it in ages. As I said, I live in Cali so I have to travel an hour or so to the mountains to enjoy this kind of thing. I’m just happy when I visit snow because I never see it otherwise. I enjoy sledding haha.

Last but not least….

Tell me your favorite memory of winter.

One of my favorite memories of winter is going up to Mt. High with my sister and going sledding all day. Also, the first time I went snowboarding with my boyfriend and some friends. It was such a great day. We all took lessons and went boarding. I was not very accomplished at it and, living in Cali, went smartly in layered jeans + leggings. Not only did I get seriously drenched after a few hours of doing that, but we all had bruises and welts from bailing out so many times going down hills haha.

What’s Your Favorite Part About Winter?

7 thoughts on ““For the Love of Winter!” Blogger Tag

  1. Kajsa Josephine

    You had so many great things to say xx I really love when winter comes because I know spring is next 😉 As temperatures drop in Norway quite much, it´s too cold to stay outside for long. Many people likes to snowboard here, I like to keep warm ❤ So a blanket and a movie perhaps is what I call a great winter.

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Thanks Im glad you enjoyed it 🙂 you should do the tag too if you have time! Norway must be lovely in the winter! I do like snowboarding even though its scary, but i also like staying inside where its warm lol xx

      Reply

Leave a Reply

