Happy Tuesday Everyone!

Before I being today’s post, I just want to take a second to say I am not a doctor. If you have a specific skin condition or if you are simply unsure whether this method will work for you, please consult your physician beforehand. This is simply a method that has really worked well for me so I hope it helps some of you in your goals for clear, glowing body skin.

 

If you’ve been following my blog for awhile, you’ll know all about my body’s dry skin issues. That being said, I haven’t talked about the things I do to combat and keep my dry skin at bay. The main thing I’ve been doing for a few months now is oil cleansing for the body.

When people discuss oil cleansing, it’s usually referring to the face, but I’ve been using natural olive oil body oil to wash my body. This may actually turn quite a few people off, but it actually really works incredibly well for me.

First of all, I still use soap to cleanse delicate lady parts (sorry, it needs to be said), but everywhere else (aside from my hair) gets cleansed with the body oil I purchased at my local farmer’s market from a company called Ambrosia Foods.

I experimented cleansing this way for the first time because cleansing with traditional soap just wasn’t doing it for me. It didn’t matter if the body wash or soap was for dry skin, it still dried my skin out and occasionally made me peel. So, I thought, why not take the principles of oil cleansing for the face and apply that to my body?

So, in order to avoid the annoying oily type feeling, here’s how I achieve soft, glowing skin through oil cleansing without feeling super oily at the end of it all.

 

I posted about these gloves I picked up at Target several months ago from Eco Tools and they’ve worked very well for me. So, when I decided to begin my experimenting with oil cleansing for the body, these were a must-have. Basically what I do is I apply body oil (the one shown above or whatever body oil I have on hand) while in the shower and I massage it into my skin while using these exfoliating shower gloves. Then I rinse off a little, turn off the shower and dry my skin. The exfoliating gloves really help the oil absorb into my skin while sloughing off dead skin cells and cleansing dirt. Just remember to be gentle around your breast, neck and under arm areas where the skin is much thinner because exfoliating too hard can irritate and inflame your skin.

Not only does my skin not feel oily after the fact, but it’s left brighter, clearer, more supple and hydrated. If I feel I still need added moisture, I’ll apply a normal body lotion once out of the shower. My two current favorites are the Skin Rescue Lotion from Max Green Alchemy and the Intrinsic Organics Body Lotion because they both absorb easily without leaving residue behind and they hydrate the skin really well without clogging pores.

So, I know it may sound weird, but try it and see for yourself; you may be surprised at the results!

Words of caution – be careful when using oil in the shower, you can slip and hurt yourself if you’re not careful. Also, make sure you rinse your shower out well after bathing because it can cause dirt to stick to the tub if you don’t rinse with hot water after the fact and may also cause the next person to shower to slip and fall as well.

Have you ever tried oil cleansing before for the face or body?

What were your experiences with this method of cleansing?

9 thoughts on “DIY Glowing Skin – Oil Cleansing for the Body

  1. Alia

    I had never heard of anyone using this method for their body, but it sounds like it works like a dream for you! I can imagine that your skin must feel quite moisturized by using this method!

    Reply
  2. Pingback: October Beauty Favorites! | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  3. Sue

    Oh, my gosh! I have incredibly dry skin, and i’m allergic to almost anything. I’ve been looking EVERYWHERE for solutions to this, and this is the only thing i found on body oil cleansing. Thank you so much!! You saved my skin. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

