If you’ve been following this blog for a bit, you’ll know all about the trouble I’ve had with makeup face primers.

I’ve been a longtime devotee of the Korres Silicone Free Vitamin E Face Primer (see the review for it – here) for ages since it’s the only one that doesn’t seem to break me out, but recently I was lucky enough to try the Brightening and Smoothing Face Primer by Jane Iredale and I’m really enjoying it!

First off, it has a really nice consistency that fills in pores while also brightening up the skin tone. What I really like about it is all of the natural brightening extracts including apple, grapefruit, and white tea to help brighten the skin naturally. There is also aloe leaf juice added in for hydration and suppleness which I really like as I’ve found other primers to be really suffocating to the skin.

In the month that I’ve been using this primer under my makeup, I’ve been super happy with the results. It doesn’t cause me to break out at all. I noticed my skin looks a bit brighter with this primer in the morning ( as opposed to my normally dead pale complexion!) and it really does help set my foundation in a nice velvety finish that I really love. I think if you’re someone who normally wears a matte finish type foundation, but occasionally wants the soft velvet (not necessarily dewy, but softer finish than matte) finish to their makeup, this is a great choice. Using it gives a pore less finish with the silky look, but you don’t need to invest in a whole new foundation. Instead, just use your normally matte foundation and you should get this effect! It’s been my favorite part of using this primer. Also, it really does help set in and keep your foundation in place all day. I was so surprised this primer didn’t break me out, but I’m thrilled to have discovered another great primer and one that can give me that velvet finish whenever I desire it.

You can check out this primer – here!

To shop the entire line of Jane Iredale products, check here.

Do you use face makeup primer?

If yes, what’s your current favorite?

❀

10 thoughts on “For A Glowing, Velvety Finish, Try the Jane Iredale Smooth Affair Facial Primer & Brightener

  1. D @ Sweetjellybean.com

    I tried Jane Iredale spray mist before and I did like it, it was I think my first spray mist and my Mom looked at me funny everytime I’d spritzed hahaha. I don’t think I’ve ever tried a primer before, I think maybe Smashbox? But never really liked it. I think I’m too lazy. But I’m curious now with your review how it might be for my skin. Great review Tianna, I always meet new products on this blog. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Haha your mom is like what the heck are you doing? So funny. My mom thinks I’m weird with beauty too. I love the smashbox primer for how it looks, but it makes me breakout something fierce! such a bummer too bc the finish is amazing. Maybe I’ll pick one up for a future giveaway πŸ™‚ Thank; I’m glad to be helpful!! x

      Reply
  2. Pingback: Gentle Enough For Any Skin Type! – Living Nature Liquid Foundation | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  3. Pingback: Get A Silky, Soft Makeup Finish With Jane Iredale’s Liquid Minerals Foundation + Antioxidant Hydrating Finishing Spray! | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  4. Pingback: November Beauty Favorites | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  5. Pingback: My Top Favorite Makeup Products of 2012 – The Best of Eyes, Lips, and Face | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  6. Pingback: BEAUTY SALE! Too Faced Cosmetics – Up to 70% Off! | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  7. Pingback: Summer 2013 Makeup Collections I’m Really Excited About | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

Leave a Reply

