My boyfriend and I began again yesterday after taking a week’s break from Insanity to celebrate his birthday (and several other birthdays, actually).

I was disappointed and annoyed when I realized we haven’t finished the 60 day plan all the way through yet, but then I was super proud last night when we went a full 28 minutes (out of the 40 minute workout) before calling it.

I also then realized that it’s not really that important that we took a week break. After all, I still did some yoga, played Xbox Kinect, and tried to do some walking even though we didn’t do any Insanity workouts. Not only that, but I feel like it’s more important that we are not giving up, but simply starting again and plowing forward with our goals instead of wallowing in our usual frustrations, disappointments, and instead, we’re just doing it.

So, I guess that’s the lesson that I learned – stop talking and just do the damn workout. It’s like 30 minutes of hell per day for a whole new body and a whole new life. So, just do it because you have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

Oh, and the aftermath always makes me feel accomplished, strong, happy, and proud, too, so that’s all the more to look forward to!

How do you stay consistent and on track with your fitness goals?

If you fall off the workout wagon, how easy is it for you to get back on and, if not, how do you motivate yourself to do it anyway?

Let me know in the comments below!

19 thoughts on “Insanity Workout – Take Two

  1. healthyfrenchie

    I try very hard not to feel guilty! It’s your worse enemy… Because if you feel guilty and like you “failed” it’s much more likely that you won’t carry on…
    Instead I try to frame things more positively: your body needed rest, sometimes life gets in the way, you’re building habits for life etc
    I think for me the key is to think of my exercise habits over longer periods of time: is it something I do on a regular basis throughout the year? Or am I just doing bursts here and there?
    Well done you for getting back on track 🙂 And staying active during your break

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      I know me too! I always end up giving myself such a hard time and my biggest thing is punishing myself sort of in my head you know. Like oh great, you’ve quit again, but lately I’m stopping that bitchy voice dead in her tracks because she hasn’t done me any favors at all. And like you said, it’s a life choice not something I could only do this month. So I feel happy about starting over because I do want to complete the program and I do want to accomplish my goals. And just doing it instead of talking crap to myself gets more done and its more positive in the end. Love your positive frame of mind though! I’ll have to pocket those n use them sometime 😉 Thanks and staying active was cool and not too difficult. I thought, well, it’s better than nothing if I hop on our Xbox Kinect. They have adventure games where you’re dodging obstacles n things. I did that for about an hour or so and I was in drenched in sweat by the end. Good cardio if nothing else!! lol . Thanks for commenting 🙂 x

      Reply
  2. Kajsa Josephine

    Of course it´s hard. I have a golden rule that I am going to workout twice a week no matter what! Figured out that it´s better with a reachable goal. So far I´ve only slacked one week (in the pasted couple of months). Ultimately three times a week is preferable, but I don´t want to lose motivation. Working out twice a week is better than none!

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Yeah, it is, but I’m working toward goals every day so I feel motivated I’m glad you’re succeeding in your goals as well! Well done! I shoot for 5 days per week, but if I hit 3 I’m happy. I have milestones I try to reach every week. plus I just got this phone app that’s super helpful. x

      Reply
      1. storybookapothecary Post author

        They really do help esp with calorie count and water intake! Lol no I think insanity workouts just get me into hardcore workout mode! lol – thank you and you motivate me too! As you said, we have to keep each other motivated!! x

      2. Kajsa Josephine

        Indeed!! The reward are super toned bodies 😉 Ready to meet a new bikini season. For us on the Scandinavian peninsula we are lucky. Months of snow, rain and cold to get that super toned body 😉

  3. f00dventures

    I try not to beat myself up if I miss a workout….or two….or five lol it really just depends on how I’m feeling. If I’m esceptionally tired or sore then I take the day off. I aim though for working out 3 times a week, about 30-40 minutes each week. And I try to fit in more walking. It’s been harder though getting in workouts with my job. I typically work out in the morning but I’m working day shifts and I am pooped when I get home. It’s just a coffee place but I’m on my feet all day and it’s just much more taxing than it sounds lol at least I’m getting in some walking from my job.

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Haha @or five. Yeah working can put a damper on any work out, I think it’s a matter of adjusting to the pace and then trying to be consistent, but we’re human. try not to beat yourself up about it if you miss a workout or anything lol x

      Reply
  4. cinnaspring

    Eek I could probably get an award for being a fanatic workout-er and then falling into a deep deep non-workout mode for a veryyyy long time. I usually try to bounce back bit by bit because I usually push myself too hard that I end up sick +_+ Anyway…have you heard of BodyRock? Try them out, they’re pretty awesome and it’s all exercises that can be done at home! 😀

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Haha my boyfriend is just the same. He had a time where he was super extreme about working out so now he’s really noncommittal when it comes to fitness. Never heard of BodyRock , but I’ll check it out ! Thanks ! x

      Reply
  5. Snow

    I try to keep my gym times achievable. I’ve only recently started going to the gym at a regular basis. I try to go at least 3 times a week. So far I’ve only missed once.

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      that’s really fantastic! I really want to work up to doing workouts in the morning,but I am a terrible morning person so it’s been quite unsuccessful haha. Workouts end up being an after work evening sort of thing x

      Reply
  6. Pingback: Official declaration of #INSANITY « Tell it, girl!

  7. Pingback: Insanity day 2 « ErinLovesLife

Leave a Reply

