I made these last night after watching the film, Chocolat, and getting inspired to make something chocolatey with a bit of spice. So, of course, I went searching online for a fun chocolate chip cookie recipe that I could manipulate. I got the original recipe for these here , but I added in cinnamon and cayenne pepper for a bit of a kick! I also used dark chocolate instead of semi-sweet chocolate chips, but you can use what you like. These cookies are sooo good! They taste just like chewy chocolate chip cookies, but they have a hint of spiciness and a lot more flavor in my opinion. I hope you’ll try them out and let me know what you think!

Please Note – My alterations to the recipe are asterisked.

Ingredients: 

  • 3/4 C unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 C packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 C white sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 C all-purpose flour
  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 2 C semisweet chocolate chips – I used dark chocolate chips, but you can use what you like
  • 1/2 – 1 Tsp Ground Cinnamon *
  • 1/2 – 1 Tsp Ground Cayenne Pepper *

Directions: Mix all your dry ingredients in a bowl, set aside. In another bowl, mix sugars, melted butter, eggs, and vanilla extract until creamy and blended throughout. Add in dry ingredients a little at a time until evenly blended. Add in chocolate chips and chill dough in the fridge for 30 minutes. Using a tablespoon, place even cookie dough balls about an inch apart on a baking sheet sprayed with non-stick cooking spray or parchment paper. Bake at 325 F for 15-17 minutes and enjoy!

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe – With A Twist!

  1. cinnaspring

    Oooh yum I was actually craving for chocolate cookies but I baked chocolate brownies which are the easiest for me! I’ll try this sometime this week and will let you know how it goes 😀

    Reply
  2. f00dventures

    I looooove chocolat! I think I’m going to watch it now. I always want to watch that movie this time of the year. Thank you for reminding me about it lol and your cookies sound yum! It’s funny because I was going to make cookies last night but made pumpkin chocolate chip,brownie/muffins instead. I may have to try your recipe soon though!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

