Hello!

So, I recently noticed a huge drop in my followers and I am wondering if it’s either 1) a glitch in the system or 2) I am doing something horribly wrong to offend my readers.

Can you guys please give me some feedback and/or advice to this end?

I’m kind of confused about it and I don’t really know how to respond so any advice you can offer if I am offending or pissing you guys off, please let me know!

I work really hard as a blogger and I just want to know what I can do to change, improve or better myself and make the blog better for you.

I appreciate any help you can offer me.

Thank you

❤

11 thoughts on “I Need Blogger Advice, Help & Feedback Please!

  1. The Haute Frugalista

    Hey Tianna!!
    Im sure theres gotta be a glitch, I dont think you can loose many followers in one day and quick question, how did you noticed?
    I think youre a wonderful blogger. Always involved with other blogs/bloggers and giving feedback on different topics. Your reviews are honest and well-thoughout and I think youre doing a great job!
    Now, Im a biweekly tyoe of reader because Im also a blogger myself and a writer. I try to keep up with everyones posts but sometimes is really hard so I try to at least hit Like (if I do of course), just to let the blogger know I passed by and read it and maybe just didnt have enough time to comment.
    What I did noticed was that you post frequently either on the same time frame or day. Some people, if theres settings are as immediate, might get turned off by that and take it as spam or get annoyed by it. If you want to maybe you should suggest to your readers to adjust their settings to daily or weekly but at the end you dont want readers passing by weekly but rather when you post. Maybe change the frequency of your posts to daily instead of several a day? Just a suggestion. I know as bloggers we get so excited and want to share everything, but there has been blogs Ive stopped following because it was just too much to keep up with and, au contraire to you, the bloggers would just post and not visit.
    Dont worry much that those of us who are here, we love your energy and topics!!
    Xoxo!
    Dee

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Hi Dee 🙂

      Thanks for your feedback. Maybe it is a glitch. I noticed because I just saw the number and how different it was from the other day.

      Thanks for all of your kind words; I really appreciate that. I agree with you on the bi-weekly reading type as I’m pretty much the same, but I understand about the whole multiple posts per day thing. I was thinking about maybe just scheduling them for various days ahead of time as I’m only able to blog certain times each week, but I’m still new to blogging so I’m learning as I go.

      Thanks for all the helpful advice! I’ll be sure to take it into account! x

      Tianna

      Reply
  2. ArtsyArchitette

    Hi Tianna!
    I’m sure it is just a glitch… I agree with Dee above, I don’t think you would be dropping so many in such a short period of time.
    I assume you checked your stats page? That was how you noticed the follower drop? I know that the WP Stats page/dashboard can be glitchy, sometimes not even loading properly for me.

    Personally, even though my time has been limited lately and I try to read the blogs I follow as much as I can, I haven’t noticed anything that would be offensive at all.

    I do notice that you post quite often, but I have my notifications settings set that way, so I can try and see each post of the blogs I follow in my email – since I hate the WP Reader/Explorer pages.

    Some people can be bothered by a very active blogger (nothing wrong with that), and I have even experienced that myself with some bloggers, but never enough that I would unsubscribe – rather just delete the notification from my email or change my settings for them.

    Overall, I do not think it is you – most likely just WordPress.
    We still love you! ♥
    -sam

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Hi Sam,

      Hmm yeah maybe. Yeah I check my stats page haha. Hmm yeah I know a lot of bloggers talk about glitches in WP as well so it makes sense.

      Yeah I try to post often if I’m trying different things to keep it fresh, but I think Dee is right about scheduling them so I’ll probably try to do that more from now on . I’m just discovering a lot of the features of WP so I’m still improving in times etc.

      I know what you mean about the WP Reader – it’s so annoying the way it’s set up and really glitchy.

      Yeah, I actually love it when bloggers are really active! haha. But maybe I’m just obsessed with the blog world haha.

      Thanks for your feedback and I love you guys too! That’s why I’m here 😉

      ❤

      Tianna

      Reply
  3. travelladywithbaby

    Hi! Don’t worry about numbers on WP, those are all fellow bloggers and sometimes, people just unfollow, because they are overwhelmed. Just focus on blogging for yourself and stay your authentic self! Your blog is awesome, and the readers will go up and down over time, it isn’t personal.

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Thanks for this. It def helps me put things into perspective and realize what is important you know? I’m glad I have great blogging friends though. It’s good to be encouraged and know that people enjoy what you post as well . Thanks for commenting ❤

      Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Haha I hope it’s just a glitch. Words really can’t explain how unlikely it is that I will ever post on any of that crap..esp considering I know nothing about any of that..except maybe the steak part..I make some amazing steaks..

      Reply
  4. AJ's Mom

    Hi Tianna,
    I love your blog, I’m sure you know that. I think it could be just a glitch, since can you remember the ho-ha I had for almost two days??!! It was a nightmare – and I lost one or two because of me apparently spamming them! LOL. And I found out that it was a technical error where my .com and worpress.com url are both publishing one post on Reader – doubling it up! It’s all fixed now, thank goodness, but it really stressed me a little since I don’t link to bug other people who are having quiet blogging life. But in the end, and as others have said here, we do go through the being unfollowed and whatnot, but never have that let you down, ok? You still have your die-hard followers (like ME!!!) who would follow and stalk you wherever you go.

    And oh, Dee made a very good point about posting a day and your suggestion of scheduling them instead. AJ’s Dad told me the same thing when a week or two ago, I was double posting (guilty :-s) and it makes sense because I had to ‘unfollow’ via email one of the newest blogs I follow and followed it via Reader instead – due to triple, no 5-a day posting and I get them all by email :-(.

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Hi theree 🙂 Yeah I know I thought of you! haha. Well maybe I should contact tech support? Yeah I’ll def. be scheduling from now on! I’m glad you would follow and stalk me wherever I go 😀 haha. Likewise 😉 Yeah I do double up a lot because I try not to blog on weekends, but I’m thinking of bi weekly blogging like Dee and then scheduling for the week etc. or something like that. x

      Reply

Leave a Reply

