Shaun T’s INSANITY Workout – Day 1

I have started an insane workout plan, quite literally.

Started by Shaun T, workout guru and dance choreographer, the Insanity Workout is not for the faint of heart. Seriously, if you have heart problems or anything, I don’t recommend it. But if you want an incredible workout you can do at home that is SERIOUSLY intense, definitely try this.

I can’t yet attest to any of the weight loss as I just started, but I am thinking of posting every day on this so let me know in the comments if you’re interested in seeing how my progress goes, etc.

The Fit Test in itself is intense, which is all I did yesterday, by the way. It basically judges your fitness level by having you complete 8 different, extremely difficult, exercises and powering out as many as you can in 1 minute’s time. Some I was able to do a lot, some not so much. At any rate, they were all difficult.

So then you go back and take the same Fit Test on Day 15 36, 50, and 63 to see how you progress over the 60 day workout plan. I’m excited to see how I progress in this area as well as my strength, endurance, stamina, and, of course, weight loss. As far the workouts, there are a variety and the 60 day plan kit thing (yep) comes with a poster sized schedule (portion of it is pictured above) to pin up on your wall (which I’ve done) to keep you on task and know which workout to do on which day. I really like the poster idea because I always forget things if I don’t write them out somewhere and the schedule on my wall is hard to miss or forget about. It makes it super easy to remember and stay on track.

My boyfriend and I are doing this together, for the most part, and we’re also following the nutrition plan which is basically 5 meals per day, each at 200-500 calories depending on how active you are, if you want to maintain, lose weight, etc.

What I really like about this whole workout / nutrition plan is that they give you everything you need. They give you all the math to calculate your caloric needs, several meal examples for all meals of the day, when you should be eating, how to adjust your numbers based on your goals and they keep it super simple.

I love that the meals are, for the most part, easy to prepare. One thing that pisses me off about a lot of health meal and plans and recipe books is they can get so convoluted with all the gadgets you need to prepare them, the rare and exotic ingredients, etc. that it feels like an impossible plan to follow. Kudos to whoever wrote their nutritional plan because it’s simple, straightforward and easy to understand and follow. Plus, it’s not expensive or difficult to attain the ingredients .

Overall, I feel really good about this plan. Of course, overall I want to lose weight as much as possible, but I do want to focus also on strength, stamina and endurance increases while also improving my entire health and diet. I really like this plan because everything is given to you. It’s feels like I have a nutritionist and trainer in a box or something. I’m really motivated because if you do the plan and lose a lot of weight, you can send in your before and after photos and get a free t-shirt that says “INSANITY.” Maybe I’m shallow, or maybe I just want to prove myself to the Insanity Workout Gods, but I WANT that shirt. I am scared because I really think a workout this difficult does test you, but I’m excited because I want to do it. So, stay tuned for more updates as I go along and wish me luck on coming out of this 60 days with a lot less fat and a whole lot more strength, muscle, endurance, stamina and confidence. Oh, and a smaller dress size please and thanks!

So, more tomorrow on Day 2 and my first day of the actual workouts!

Learn more about the Insanity Workout – here!

Have you ever heard of the Insanity Workout or tried it?

What are your thoughts on workout plans like this one?

15 thoughts on “Shaun T’s INSANITY Workout – Day 1

  1. healthyfrenchie

    I actually tried insanity a few times but never really stuck to the whole program. Whenever I am looking for an intense long workout I’ll watch one of the videos though. I remember when I took that fit test for the first time, I thought I was going to die haha
    I do like doing it from time to time though, because it helps me measure progress regardless of what exercise program I have been doing (or making up)

    Reply
  2. miahepburn

    My boyfriend is doing Insanity! I was planning on it too… until I got halfway through the fit test and thought my heart was going to literally beat its way out of my chest. It’s definitely not for me, I like my old-school Taebo, lol. Insanity does seem like a great program, good luck on it 🙂

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      O really cool! Haha I know what you mean. It made me think twice about doing it, but I think I need something this crazy to keep me addicted as opposed to something easy where I’ll get bored fast. Love taebo! haha. Thank you very much ❤

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Posts You May Have Missed This Week! | Natural Beauty Tips & Reviews On All Things Beauty & Health Related

  4. theclassyanarchist

    Insanity sounds like so much fun. I’ll be trying P90X later this week with my boyfriend! I used to kickbox, and that was my favourite workout ever. Good luck with it. I saw your posts on Instagram about this ❤ 🙂

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      It’s a lot of fun, but its sooo hard haha. I really enjoy it and it’s a great challenge. Second week and I’ve already improved a little bit so I’m excited for that. 🙂 Thanks for following me on Instagram! x

      Reply
      1. theclassyanarchist

        🙂 post more pics on Instagram, PLS!!! 😀 Yes it sounds very hard. Called Insanity for a reason 😉 But you’ll probably be able to kick my arse (and everyone else’s arse too!) by the end of it.

      2. theclassyanarchist

        Ha ha I’d love to see a pic of you wearing a face mask, just sayin’. 🙂 I love Instagram. I go through spurts.. Post a lot, then I don’t for like a week. I wish I was better at marketing myself. hahaha

      3. storybookapothecary Post author

        Hahahah I feel the same! I love face masks lmao. I should post some pics. I’ll try to remember to post okay? Lol I feel exactly the same about marketing myself. I also don’t want to be a spammer though because I know it would be annoying as hell so at least we’re not spammers? lol

  5. Pingback: Insanity Workout Update | Natural Beauty Tips & Reviews On All Things Beauty & Health Related

  6. Pingback: August Beauty Favorites! | Natural Beauty Tips & Reviews On All Things Beauty & Health Related

  7. Pingback: Official declaration of #INSANITY « Tell it, girl!

  8. Pingback: Ramblings of the Infirm: Fitness Chronicles « Tell it, girl!

Leave a Reply

