New Blogger Tips & Tools: Free Photoshop Clones with GIMP2 & Pixlr !

I’ve been wanting to talk about this one for awhile!

Bloggers around have really been soo helpful to me, especially Breige @BeautyandtheBestoftheRest and Donah @SweetJellyBean. They’ve both posted some very helpful blogger advice for anyone starting out with a new blog that are extremely useful and helpful! Check out Breige’s post here and Donah’s post here.

So as a way to thank them and others who have helped me on my way, I decided to pay it forward with a few things I’ve learned along the way as well!

First things first – photos, banners, and buttons!

We need them for our site. Seriously. Take lots of pictures and make sure you have a fun banner that suits your blog’s message and goals as well as some blog buttons for other bloggers to snatch up, swap with you, and post on their sidebars! (See my current ones on the left sidebar!)

That being said, we can’t all afford to just drop $400 or so on expensive editing software like photoshop to create all these lovelies so what do we do?

We use FREE online programs! Some of the best ones I’ve used are GIMP (or GIMP2) which is a complete photoshop clone only it’s free and a bit easier to navigate in my opinion. Also, not as many fonts available, but you can download free font packs online. Another good one is Pixlr, which I discovered through Donah @SweetJellyBean. With Pixlr, there’s 2 versions – the Editor and the Express version. This one has a lot more fun and especially girly looking fonts and decorative stamps, especially the express version. The Editor version is basically an online clone of photoshop, similar to Gimp, but without having to download it onto your computer; you can just use it directly on the pixlr website. The Express version is really handy for making buttons and banners and little decorative button type things. I also highly recommend it to those who really are not familiar or comfortable using photoshop types yet because it’s simpler, more easy to navigate and pretty straightforward as far as what buttons do what. It’s not as complicated or intimidating as the photoshop clones can be so if you’re unfamiliar, Pixlr express is a great place to start! I hope this helps and is useful to those of you who are just starting out on your blogging adventure!

That’s all for now!

If you have any other questions regarding blogging, etc., feel free to leave them in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer them all as best I can!

❀

8 thoughts on “New Blogger Tips & Tools: Free Photoshop Clones with GIMP2 & Pixlr !

  1. AJ's Mom

    I like. πŸ˜‰ Thank you for sharing and for the shout out. (P.S. not sure why I’m not getting a pingback from your though, normally I would if you connect to my post.)

    Reply
  2. Pingback: EOTD 19 – Plum Craze « Mae's beauty reports

  3. Pingback: Your Haute Couture on A Budget

  4. Pingback: Amazing Style Virtual Make Over Application | Your Haute Couture on A Budget

Leave a Reply

