That Silence You’ve Been Hearing All Weekend + Runners High…

 Hello Everyone!

I hope you all had a lovely weekend and I wanted to apologize for the complete and utter silence you may have experienced on this blog over the weekend!

As you can see, I have been testing quite a bit of product lately and trying to get some reviews sorted for everything!

I apologize for the delay, but I certainly needed some R&R this weekend so I took a much needed break from technology.

Aside from answering comments, I pretty much avoided my computer and cell phone altogether this weekend.

I actually spent the weekend with family and went on a 5 mile hike/jog with my sister which brings me to the next things I wanted to mention: Runner’s high.

Amazingly, I think I actually experienced this during our little 5 mile excursion!

First off, let me just say that I normally hate running.

I have never been a runner, I don’t seek it out and I like most other forms of exercise better than running on any given day.

Until now, that is. Now I think I may be slowly turning into a runner!

You see, this 5 mile hike is a 3 mile trek uphill on a very rocky dirt trail and a 2 mile jog down so it’s a bit of a challenge.

3 miles can certainly feel long if it’s your first time doing it, but the jog down is SO worth it.

I found this jog/hike to be a great challenge and it felt amazing to be in nature after spending so much time indoors on my computer.

Not only that, but the 3 miles uphill feels long and you get sort of desensitized so that, by the time you get to the top and jog down, you literally feel SO LIGHT and it was just amazing!

It’s also nice because as you run downhill you pass some trees and foliage and a creek (dried up now that it’s summer)  and the wind hits your face making jogging feel much easier than it is!

I certainly felt a natural high going on during the downhill jog and I felt happier than I have in ages.

It definitely goes to show that nature can heal the body and the power of the fresh air in the  outdoors.

I certainly recommend hiking or nature walking/jogging to anyone living the city life who needs some rejuvenation and relaxation, but cannot afford vacation.

You may be surprised at the results!

So, anyway, I just wanted to share that and apologize for my absence, but rest assured, more posts soon!

Have you ever experienced runner’s high or a good/happy mood amount of endorphins from fitness?

Did it change your perspective on anything?

I’d love to hear thoughts on this as it’s something I’ve never experienced before!

Exercise has always made me feel great, but this was on an entirely different level!

Do share your thoughts on the comments & more beauty posts soon!

8 thoughts on “That Silence You’ve Been Hearing All Weekend + Runners High…

  1. healthyfrenchie

    Yay you’re a convert! haha I love disconnecting over the week-end too
    Nothing beats running on trails in nature it really does relax your mind… And running down after going up is the best feeling it makes you feel like a carefree kid again (I think anyway)
    So glad you enjoyed it

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      I know!! Me too! My sister does it almost every morning so I may join her! 5 miles a day; can you imagine? Amazinggg! The trek up is SO worth the downhill wind and view. I loved it! I totally agree that being in nature on trails is the best and it’s so much better than being bored on a treadmill or running on cement or something. x

      Reply
      1. healthyfrenchie

        I think I only love running bcse there are so many trails around my house.. Running on cement or the treadmill is not for me…
        Thats why I enjoyed my race so much as well 🙂

      2. storybookapothecary Post author

        yeah I can totally understand! It’s really an entirely different experience to run in nature than on cement or treadmill. WAY better! glad you enjoyed your race! so amazing! x

  2. f00dventures

    i was wondering what happened to you! i missed seeing your posts. i kept checking every morning to see if you had posted something new. that’s awesome that you spent your weekend rejuvenating yourself. i spent my weekend getting fat with pizza and cake from celebrating my fiance’s birthday :p

    Reply
  3. AJ's Mom

    Oh so that’s where you’ve been. I am glad you’ve enjoyed running and spent your weekend wonderfully. I used to jog around the park ages ago (which was 2 years ago I think) and then my friend and I would play tennis as well. It was awesome and definitely gave me that healthy boost that I needed. We used to do aerobics too every Wednesday, and that was so much fun! Would love to do something like that again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

