Easy Sugar Free Lemonade & Strawberry Popsicles Recipe- Frozen Diabetes Friendly Treat!

So, I don’t think you all know, but my boyfriend is a Type 1 diabetic.

He can’t really enjoy a whole lot of sweets due to this fact so I try to make healthy desserts we can enjoy together without stressing too much about the sugar content.

I made this delicious frozen treat today and I hope anyone else who is diabetic or anyone who wants a healthy guilt free treat can enjoy this treat as much as we did!

What You Will Need:

  • Juice or Drink of Choice
  • Fruit of Choice, Chopped or Whole
  • Popsicle Sticks
  • Popsicle Mold or Dixie Cups

Pick Your Base.

I used sugar free crystal light lemonade, but if you aren’t diabetic or want something sweeter, you can make fresh lemonade. Otherwise you can make it diabetic friendly by using splenda or stevia. You can also use any other fresh fruit juice, but try to keep it simple so the flavor won’t overwhelm the actual fruit you’re going to add to this.

Add Fruits of Your Choice & Choose Containers.

Next, choose the fruit you may want to use. I used strawberries because that is what I had on hand, but you can use whatever you like. Mix and match strawberries and blueberries, add raspberries or do all three.

After that you’ll want to choose your containers. I used small dixie cups, but if you have a popsicle mold or something, feel free to use that!

Put the fruit, cut up enough to fit in your mold, in the bottom and then pour in your liquid or juice of choice to 3/4 full.

Put the mold in the freezer for 1 hour and then add your popsicle sticks.

By that time, the mixture should have frozen enough to hold your sticks up.

Put back in the freezer for another 3-6 hours.

Remove from Dixie Cups and Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Easy Sugar Free Lemonade & Strawberry Popsicles Recipe- Frozen Diabetes Friendly Treat!

  1. AJ's Mom

    Wow! Looks yummy! This reminds me of that healthy version of popsicles we got from Trader Joe’s when I was pregnant of my little boy. Ah, it was amazingly good. It was one of my favourite not-so guilty pleasure at that time. I wasn’t allowed to eat any ice cream or any sweets you see (my other half was so strict!!!). Shame I can’t get the popsicle here in the UK. Thanks for the recipe, might try doing it next week. 🙂

    Reply
  2. healthyfrenchie

    Looks so yummy! I’ll have to try and make something similar (if the weather improves that is… I feel more like having hot chocolate right now) Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

