DIY Lip Recipes

Lip Recipes are actually a lot easier to do than you think.

In fact, you probably have all the ingredients you need to make at least one of these recipes.

Although there are more complicated recipes, I like these because I find that the fewer ingredients, the more often I am inclined to make them as opposed to purchasing lip balms.

Plus, a lot of the ingredients are easily used for a multitude of things so you don’t just need to use it to make your lippies.

Experiment and Be Creative!

You may find you like your custom lippies better than the store bought kind as you can really customize the tints, if you want a tint that is, and you can control what moisturizing ingredients go into the formula.

Before I get into the easy ways to make lippies, I will give you the breakdown for a more complicated formula that you can manipulate if you really want a really put together lip balm recipe. You can make a lot at once to last you also or for parties.

Basic Lip Balm Recipe:

  • 2 Tbs. Shea Butter
  • 2 Tbs. Beeswax
  • 2 Tbs. Any Oil of Your Choice – some good options include Coconut Oil, Sweet Almond Oil, Grape Seed Oil, Olive Oil, or any other natural vegetable oil that you like.
  • 1-3 Drops Flavor Oil of your Choice – Cherry, Strawberry, and Grape are popular varieties! Try cinnamon essential oil for a stinging lip plumping effect (no more than 1-2 drops for the whole recipe!!) Otherwise, you can use spearmint for a cooling effect (again no more than 1-2 drops!)
  • Lip Balm Containers – Either Tubes, Tins or Jars work depending on your preference.
Now, if all of that seems like WAY too much work, then read on for the easier lip recipes!

The first thing you need to decide when making an easy lip balm recipe is what you want to use for your base.

Some of my favorites include coconut oil, shea butter, sweet almond oil, grape seed oil, and olive oil for lip glosses and balms. The harder oils/butters such as shea butter, kokum butter, and coconut oil can work well for balms, though coconut will melt quickly in the heat and may be better suited as a gloss in the summertime, depending on the climate. Any liquid vegetable oil will work for a gloss.

If I want a tint, I pick one from extra eye shadow pigments that I have sitting around. I have made red, coral, pink and beige. For beige, I use face powder or bronzer or a mix of the two, depending on the tint I want. For red, I usually use some old blush, but depending on the colors you have lying around, you may not be able to get the exact red you want. I had some old goth shadow that was blood red sitting around so I use that, but whatever you have on hand is fine!

If you get it from a hard pan compact eye shadow, you have to take a butter knife to chip off some of the shadow onto a plate. Then you use the outside of a spoon to smash up the shadow into small pieces. If you have loose shadow already, you can use that or if you have a mortar and pestle sitting around, that may be more convenient than using a spoon to crush up the pigment.

After your shadow is crushed, pour your chosen oil/butter into an old lip gloss container (you may want to wash beforehand to avoid bacteria!)  or otherwise an old lip balm jar. If you use a jar, you will have to apply the gloss with a brush so it’s up to you! Otherwise, you can purchase lip containers for gloss and balm very cheaply on Ebay or other websites online.

Once your container is 3/4 full with oil/butter, add in the pigment and shake until evenly distributed. You will only need about 1/8 teaspoon for one lip gloss.  This really is my lazy way of doing things, but there is a more orderly way.

If you prefer, you can mix 1/8 cup of oil with a fair amount of pigment in a separate bowl and keep adding pigment until you get the desired color that you want. Then, when you’re finished, you can pore a small amount into your container and keep the rest in a tupperware until you are ready to use or refill your tube.

You can customize your lip recipe by adding a flavor oil (you can find these online or at craft stores such as Michaels – if in the USA). You can add essential oils such as cinnamon for plumping effects or spearmint for cooling effects as desired also.

Other really SUPER easy ways to make a lip balm/gloss are by mixing petroleum jelly (Vaseline) / petroleum jelly natural alternative – like this one – with pigment. I have also applied Egyptian  Magic Cream to my lips when they are especially dry just by itself and it works really well as a nighttime treatment, although the smell may be off-putting to some.

 Other DIY Lip Recipes: 

  • Honey Sugar Lip Scrub – Mix 1 Tbs of Honey and 1 Tbs. of Brown Sugar together and apply to lips in circular motions, massaging lips for 30 seconds to 1 minute. Rinse and apply a lip treatment.
  • Healthy Lip Stain – Soak 1 Cooked Beet or 1/2 Cup Pomegranate Seeds In Very Small Amount of HOT water for up to 30 minutes, or until the small amount of water takes on a dark color. You can put the liquid into a container or simply use a lip brush to apply directly to lips. You can also mix Kool-Aid Fruit Punch with a Small Amount of Water, then apply directly to lips. Make sure lips are moisturized before applying.
  • Sea Salt Olive Oil Lip Scrub – Mix 1 Teaspoon Sea Salt with 1 Tbs. Olive Oil. Apply to lips in circular motions, massaging lips for 30 seconds to 1 minute. Rinse and apply a lip treatment.

Do you like DIY Recipes?

What DIY Lip Recipes Have You Tried & Loved?

Let me know in the comments below!

Also, Feel Free to Request DIY Recipes for Anything of Interest in the Comments As Well!

I will do my best to make it happen!

Hope you’re all having a lovely Saturday!

Stay Beautiful

&

I’ll Talk To You Soon : ]

9 thoughts on “DIY Lip Recipes

  1. theclassyanarchist

    ha ha, ugh. Dead skin may as well be my middle name, as far as my lips go! They’ve gotten a ton better, but geez they’re the most finicky part on this bod. I guess a great solution to this would be to try making my own stuff to see exactly what it is I react to!

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Hmm..Sometimes if you wear a lot of lippies that really smell good or taste cool, you (as in people in general) tend to lick your lips more than if you wore a plain lip balm. At least, I know I do this a LOT. So to combat getting chapped lips, I wear a very plain one to bed to re-hydrate if I wore some during the day that had flavor or scent elements to it. Otherwise, some lip products are based in mineral oil and some with shea butter. Mineral oil only sits on the skin and isn’t absorbed and shea butter is very difficult to be absorbed into skin for some reason the thickness.. I’m not sure why but yeah! Hopefully this helps but maybe making your own will too!

      Reply
      1. theclassyanarchist

        Ha ha – I never really wear a lip product for its taste. And I never really wear “fruity” ones. I tried Crazy Rumors, and their stuff worked great, but I tended to stick to minty-ish, or weird herbaly types of lip balms. And yes, I avoid mineral oil like the plague! I didn’t know that about shea butter, though! Good to know; I am quite certain many of my balms have shea butter.

  2. Irene

    Hello I am trying to plan a diy spa party for a group of young girls. I would like to setup a diy lip gloss station. I need recipes for a lip gloss base that does not require melting and is safe for children.

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Hi there! I recommend using coconut oil as it’s non toxic and melts in room temperature. Otherwise you can always use vaseline, if you like. To add color, use loose mineral eye shadows. Good lyck!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

