Healthy Green (Sort of) Berry Smoothie Recipe!

So, last night I was all about making the best smoothie recipes, especially green smoothies because I want to make sure I get all the greens and nutrients I need throughout the day for energy and immunity.

I adapted my own version of the Green Berry Smoothie I found over at JoyofSmoothies.

First off, I used organic frozen mixed berries (strawberries, blackberries and blueberries mix). I used the whole pack that I had, but I think it was about 1-2 cups so it’s up to you how many you want to toss in. I love berries so yep!

If you want to or have them on hand, you can opt for fresh berries of your choice, but this is just what I had on hand.

Also, if you use fresh, you may need to use more ice/water than I did.

Next I added about 1.5-2 handfuls of fresh organic spinach leaves.

What surprised me about this smoothie is the fact that I cannot taste the spinach AT ALL.

I am not sure whether it’s because I used a lot of berries to balance it or what, but its awesome!

The last thing I added was 2 bananas which really added a bit of sweetness to the smoothie and helped to counteract any bitterness from the berries.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2-1 Bag Organic Frozen Mixed Berries (1-2 Cups Fresh with 1 Cup Crushed Ice)
  • 1-2 Handfuls of Organic Fresh Spinach
  • 2 Bananas (Fresh or frozen; if frozen, try to freeze your own and use overripe ones as they are the sweetest!)

Directions:

  • Blend your berries first if you’re using the frozen kind, otherwise the order won’t matter. I spent a bit of time blending my berries first to break apart the pieces of frozen fruit that stuck together.ย 
  • After the berries are blended, add the spinach and blend.
  • Lastly, add your bananas in little chunks. I just broke them apart with my hand. This made blending a lot faster than if they were whole.ย 
  • That’s it!
All in all, I really like this smoothie.
I’m not a big fan of the weird “green” taste of most green smoothie recipes, but this doesn’t have any hint of what I like to call “grass taste.”
The original version of this added protein powder, but I only have chocolate whey powder at the moment and I thought that might taste funny so I skipped this ingredient.
This smoothie would work well for breakfast, a midday snack or even for pre or post workout meals if you want to add the protein powder from the original recipe.
Either way, I definitely hope you try it!
Don’t let the weird purple/brown color fool you; this smoothie is delicious!
What’s your favorite kind of smoothie?
Do you prefer all fruit, all vegetable or a mix of both?
That’s all for now !
Stay Beautiful
&
I’ll Talk To You Soon : ]
6 thoughts on “Healthy Green (Sort of) Berry Smoothie Recipe!

  1. healthyfrenchie

    I’m not a huge fan of smoothies, but I’m firmly in the all fruit camp. Every time I try to add veggies, I can taste them. I love eating whole fruits and veggies anyway, I find it more filling….
    Mind you, frozen berries and a banana in smoothie on a hot summer day are great ๐Ÿ™‚

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Really? I LOVE them! I hate the green veggie taste in my smoothies though, which is why I was pleasantly surprised to find that taste absent in this smoothie. Even though it doesn’t look all that great, it really just taste like berries and bananas. I even got my boyfriend to drink it which is saying something as mostly he scoffs at the concoctions I make haha.
      Frozen berries and banana smoothies ! You can never go wrong with that one! ๐Ÿ˜€

      Reply
      1. healthyfrenchie

        yeah, if my partner eats something healthy I made its a miracle haha
        I don’t know why I have this issue with smoothies, everyone seems to love them

      2. storybookapothecary Post author

        Haha I know me too that’s why I’m like wow, it must be good!

        I think for some people it’s about texture though. I have a friend who doesn’t like them for that reason; she thinks they taste like slugs or something given the texture. I guess everyone has their thing. I prefer to eat everything whole as its more filling and sometimes more delicious IMO, but smoothies are a nice treat when it’s hot. I live in Southern Cali USA and it gets HOT here.

Leave a Reply

