DIY Toners & Other Fun DIY Ideas

I love DIY beauty.

I think it has something to do with the fact that I’m really cheap.

I love a good bargain so if I can find a way to do something simple and get the same effect in my beauty routine, then I will definitely try it!

That being said, I have found there are some really easy DIY beauty recipes that I always go back to when either I run out of my store bought products (or more detailed self handmade items)  or I don’t have the cash to re-purchase or make a more detailed item for my skin.

Green Tea All Purpose Toner 

I love green tea! My favorite is jasmine, but I’ll drink it any time, any way, whatever. This recipe is super easy. All you need is green tea and a container! Simply steep your green tea for up to 30 minutes (if you want a good concentration) and then pour it into your desired container. It’s a very affordable toner that will cleanse, provide free radical protection, soothe dryness, smell pleasant, plump fine lines (due to caffeine content!) and calm any redness and irritation. Although it doesn’t last as long as store bought toner, it’s so easy to make that you can toss it out after a week or so when it starts to smell odd or lose its potency. Also, I like storing mine in the fridge in a spray bottle so I can refresh my skin whenever I think it looks tight, tired, dry or irritated. This is especially pleasant during the summer as I live in Southern California, USA and it can get extremely hot.

This toner can work for any skin tone including sensitive, acne-prone, mature/dry, and oily skin.

Other Green Tea Ideas: If you have the raw leaves, you can mix them up with warm water to create a paste and use it as a face mask. It works really well to calm under eye puffiness and redness in the face. Otherwise, you can mix natural clays such as kaolin or French green clay with green tea toner instead of using plain water.

*PLEASE DO NOT USE IF YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO CAFFEINE!*

Honey & Lemon Brightening Acne Toner

This toner requires a little more effort, but not too much!

All you do is mix the juice of 1 lemon with 1 tablespoon of honey and then add enough water to it to fill up your container. Stir all ingredients together; the honey should dissolve easily once mixed with water. Andddd you’re done!

This toner may not work well for those with extremely sensitive skin, but should work for mostly everyone as it’s not harsh with only 1 lemon in it.

This works great as a brightening toner for those who often experience dullness and can also help to calm and dry up acne breakouts with the natural vitamin C content from the lemon and the soothing, healing properties of the honey.

Again, I like to keep mine in the fridge as it keeps fresher longer and feels awesome on my face when it’s really hot.

With this toner, I recommend you wear sunscreen during the day to avoid any photo sensitivity which can be caused by the natural vitamin C in the lemon. If you don’t wear sunscreen, you can cause hyper-pigmentation or irritation from the sun.

Other Lemony Ideas: I sometimes like to use lemon juice straight on my face by itself as a natural exfoliant. I simply use a cosmetic brush to apply the lemon juice to my face like a mask and leave on for 10 minutes. It works like a mini-peel without the extreme chemicals so you will experience some redness, but it really helps with dullness in the skin and any hyper-pigmentation or scarring if you use it over time.

*PLEASE DO NOT USE IF YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO LEMONS OR HONEY!*

Rice Water Whitening/Lightening, Softening, Anti-Aging Toner

Extremely popular in Asia, rice water is often used in beauty products for it’s natural whitening abilities. It also helps to soften skin and fine lines while also calming any irritation.

This is easy super easy to make, but needs to be replaced often as it can start to smell funny after a week or so.

Simply put 1/4 cup of rice (any kind) in a bowl and fill with water until all the rice is completely covered with water. Stir until the water looks cloudy and leave for 15 minutes sitting in the rice.

Drain the water into a separate bowl and fill your container with the rice water.

That’s all you have to do!

Super easy and effective to use.

It works well for all skin types and can help improve a number of skin concerns.

If you want the benefits of rice, but don’t want the hassle of soaking water in rice, you can always use plain sake (rice wine) as it is fermented rice water and will offer the same effects and likely last longer due to its fermentation.

For all of these recipes, I recommend using only organic ingredients to avoid petrochemicals that are found in food.

There are so many options for easy at home toners!

Too many to list here, but some others include orange blossom water for all skin types, rose water mature skin, sage water for acne, and many others.

If you are someone who definitely will never make their own toners or beauty products, feel free to shoot me an email at TiannaSicilia@yahoo.com for a custom made skincare item or otherwise convo (conversation/message) me on Etsy an I can make you a custom listing for any item you would like! Convo me here.

Check out Storybook Apothecary Etsy Shop

That’s all for now!

Stay Beautiful

&

I’ll Talk To You Soon : ]

10 thoughts on “DIY Toners & Other Fun DIY Ideas

  1. healthyfrenchie

    Thanks for all the tips! I’ll have to try the tonics 🙂 I used French green clay a lot as a teen bcse I had oily skin, but apart from that I havent used any natural products in too long

    Reply
  2. cakeboule

    I never knew you could use green tea for that! I drink the jasmine one too so next time I forget it and leave it to go cold (which is often) I will bottle it and give it a go – thanks for that !

    Reply
  3. wendy@chezchloe

    Yes… great tips. I drink a cup of green tea every morning and love the idea of brewing some up and putting it in a spray bottle. Will pass these on to my teen daughter too. Thx!

    Reply
  4. Pingback: DIY Beauty and Fashion Ideas! | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  5. Pingback: How to Get Flawless Skin the Natural Way, Beauty Tips + DIY Tricks! | Serving Up Fairy Dust With All Things Beauty, Health & Lifestyle ...

  6. D

    this was amazing! Thanks! Definetly gonna try the green tea toner… i used to use lemon and honey for a long time until i realized that lemon doesn’t suit my skin! sigh!

    Reply
    1. storybookapothecary Post author

      Np! Glad to be of help. Green tea is certainly more calming. You can use any kind of tea that you have on hand, but I think herbal and green teas have the most benefits. ♥

      Reply

Leave a Reply

