Nature’s Difference: What Sets Storybook Apothecary Healing Powders Apart

Many major brand companies use a lot of harmful ingredients in their products, including in their so-called natural formulations and even in their mineral powders. I’m not exactly sure how they manage to sneak crappy, cheap and filler ingredients into powders, but they do it. That’s how nasty pore-clogging preservatives, useless fillers and superficial ingredients like talc, bismuth oxychloride, parabens, and other preservatives make it into your powders and other cosmetics all the time.

Why?

Because it’s cheaper for them and makes their company a LOT more money.

The mark up on these products is often times literally in the 1000%.

Can you imagine that ? 1000% profit?

This is “corporate America” for you at work, even on your face.

Cheaper ingredients allows for a higher mark up while preservatives give their products incredibly long if not indefinite shelf lives.

Imagine that, a face powder that lasts longer than you do! ūüėČ

Now, I’m not saying every company does this because there are some reputable brands out there, but most drugstore brands including the supposed natural ones like Physician’s Formula sneak in artificial dyes, tons of preservatives and wasted fillers. Even higher department stores have similar and sometimes nearly identical formulas to their drug store brand equivalents, yet they are more expensive. Why? An incredible marketing plan with eye-candy packaging that is irresistible to the human eye. Even I fall victim to their clever marketing and breathtaking presentation which is why I avoid the cosmetics area of any store at all costs. Who doesn’t want the lovely makeup kit from Lancome or the adorable skincare set from Sephora? It’s the ultimate trickery, built to reel you in and hi-jack your wallet.

So, in all of that madness, why buy Storybook Apothecary makeup? Is there any brand you can trust?

Of course.

And of course I want you to buy my handmade cosmetic powders, but I am also not going to downgrade other companies in order to do that. There are tons, TONS and TONS of makeup companies on Etsy and online in general that offer great alternatives to  the mess that is the cosmetics industry. These companies work hard to have integrity and offer alternative ingredients to the synthetics offered in the mainstream.

Where and who you want to buy from are your business, your decision, so you decide and I’ll respect it.

Although there are a few things that I can say set Storybook Apothecary formulations apart from other powders on the market, even natural powders.

I’ve done a lot of research on what is actually IN a powder, whether it’s sold at Target, Nordstroms, Etsy or another online retailer and a lot of it includes the same basic formula: mica, some natural additives usually kaolin, rice powder, and aloe. Etsy and other natural retailers usually add in their own botanicals for added benefit while Target and Nordstrom brands usually add in preservatives and fillers where actual ingredients should be.

So herein lies the big difference between other brands and Storybook Apothecary.

At Storybook Apothecary, I make my own formulations on a calming base of colloidal oatmeal, kaolin, and rice powder with added natural plant and fruit powders for coloring and botanical benefits that can be customized based on your skin type and concerns. I can also add in some zinc for sun protection depending on what you want. I use very little and sometimes no mica at all.

Now, I know other companies offer a huge base in mica. There are some great benefits to using mica in formulations, but the  benefit to your skin is little while it does look great on your skin. The pluses to mica are that it can be shimmery, glittery or matte and looks very pretty. I utilize mica occasionally in bronzers or blushes where shimmer and glitter effects are wanted, but for the most part, my powders and blushes have a soft, natural look that function as both makeup and treatment all in one. I can add in some natural oils for those who need the extra moisture or want to soften fine lines, but it does shorten the life span of your powder.

This is why so many nature based companies opt to make small batches of products in order to offer fresher products to customers and reduce waste. It’s unlikely that you’ll receive a powder from me that has been sitting around for years and years, but you do get the added benefits from using higher quality ingredients that are fresher and more beneficial to your skin with no fillers, no harmful preservatives and no pore clogging ingredients, allowing your skin to heal and look its best at all times. I offer the powders in 20 gram sifter, twist and lock jars so you can use what you need and have little to no mess that usually accompanies loose powders.

So, after all that dense information, I would like to explain a bit more about why my formulations are made this way.

First, it spawned out of a personal desire and need for a powder that didn’t clog my pores every time I used it and that would offer ingredients that benefit my skin (as opposed to 1-2 beneficial ingredients and 5 fillers), antioxidant power, botanicals that would benefit and improve my skin while wearing it, and a calming base that would tame redness and any irritation.

Couple that with my skin care passion for natural, organic and wild crafted ingredients and my ideas for healing face and blush powders was born.

Although I can’t claim that the formulation nor the powders themselves are flawless, I can promise to use fresh, quality ingredients, offer a good amount, an affordable price and products you and I can stand behind.

Stay Beautiful

&

¬†I’ll talk to you soon :]

Shop Storybook Apothecary 

Leave a Reply

